Cook County Democratic Party Endorses Slate for March Primary


CHICAGO (August 19, 2015) – The Cook County Democratic Party today endorsed its slate for the March Primary including Hillary Clinton for President of the United States and Chicago City Clerk Susana Mendoza for Illinois State Comptroller.

In the race for U.S. Senate, the Democratic Party voted in favor of an open primary after none of the five candidates who addressed them were able to garner sufficient votes for support. Those appearing before the Party were: Andrea Zopp, U.S. Rep. Tammy Duckworth, Susana Sandoval, State Sen. Napoleon Harris and Cook County Board Commissioner Richard Boykin.

“Our slate is an extremely diverse ticket, drawing from the suburbs as well as Chicago and individuals from various ethnicities,” said Cook County Democratic Party Chairman Joseph Berrios. “In the cases where we made no endorsements, there were simply too many qualified candidates for any one of them to receive the required number of votes for Party backing.”

Countywide, the Party endorsed incumbents Dorothy Brown for Clerk of the Circuit Court and Karen Yarbrough for Recorder of Deeds. For the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, six year terms, the Party backed incumbents Barbara McGowan and Mariyana Spyropoulos as well as Josina Morita. For a two-year term to the MWRD, the Party gave its support to Tom Greenhaw.

The Party made no endorsement for State’s Attorney. Those who came before the Party to speak were: incumbent Anita Alvarez, Donna More, Kim Foxx and Cook County Board Commissioner John Fritchey.

For the Appellate Court, the Party endorsed Justice Bertina Lampkin and Judge Eileen O’Neill Burke. Those selected as alternates were: Associate Judge William Boyd, Judge Raul Vega and Associate Judge Leonard Murray.

Incumbent Commissioner Michael Cabonargi was endorsed for the Cook County Board of Review, 2nd District.

Eight candidates were endorsed for Circuit Court Judge; Judge Alison Conlon, Judge Daniel Patrick Duffy, Judge Rossana Fernandez, Judge Alexandra Gillespie, Maureen O’Donoghue Hannon, Judge John Fitzgerald Lyke Jr., Brendan O’Brien and Judge Devlin Joseph Schoop. Selected as alternates were: Fredrick Bates, Sean Chaudhuri, Patrick Heneghan, Nichole Patton and Peter Michael Gonzalez.

The Cook County Democratic Party is made up of 50 Chicago Ward and 30 Township Committeemen. The Democratic Primary will be held March 15, 2016.