Cook County Democratic Party Endorses Slate for March Primary


CHICAGO (August 11, 2017) – The Cook County Democratic Party today endorsed JB Pritzker for Illinois Governor and its slate for the March Primary.

In addition to Pritzker at the state level, the Party endorsed incumbents Secretary of State Jesse White, Attorney General Lisa Madigan, Treasurer Michael Frerichs and Comptroller Susana Mendoza in the March 20, 2018 Democratic Primary.

Countywide, the Party endorsed incumbents Board President Toni Preckwinkle, Assessor Joseph Berrios, Treasurer Maria Pappas and Sheriff Tom Dart as well as Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough for Clerk. For the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, six-year terms, the Party backed incumbents Debra Shore and Kari Steele as well as Martin Durkan. For a two-year term to the MWRD, the Party gave its support to Kim du Buclet.

Incumbent Board of Review Commissioners Michael Cabonargi, 2nd District, and Larry Rogers Jr., 3rd District, were endorsed.

Seven candidates were endorsed for Circuit Court Judge; Oran F. Whiting, Jonathan Clark Green, Preston Jones Jr., Cecilia A. Horan, Clare J. Quish, Peter Michael Gonzalez and Jack Hagerty. Eight candidates were endorsed as Alternates for any potential additional vacancies in the following order of priority: Rosa Marie Silva, Tom S. Sianis, Thomas F. McGuire, Elizabeth A. Karkula, Thomas E. Nowinski, Pamela Reaves-Harris, Joseph P. Clary and Richard “Rick” Cenar.

The Cook County Democratic Party is made up of 50 Chicago Ward and 30 Suburban Township Committeemen whose elected offices are non-paid positions.