Cook County Democrats Submit Record Number of Petition Signatures for their 2018 Endorsed Slate


This morning, the Cook County Democrats submitted a record number of signatures for their 2018 endorsed slate which includes: countywide constitutional officers, Metropolitan Water Reclamation district commissioners and countywide judicial candidates.

This year’s slate includes:
Cook County Board President – Toni Preckwinkle
Cook County Assessor – Joseph Berrios
Cook County Clerk – Karen Yarbrough
Cook County Treasurer – Maria Pappas
Cook County Sheriff – Tom Dart

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
6-year term
Debra Shore
Kari Steele
Martin Durkan
2-year term
Kim du Buclet

“Everyone I have spoken to across the County is excited about our diverse slate. We have seasoned public servants, who will ensure that our systems continue to be fair and equitable for every Cook County resident,” said Chairman Joseph Berrios.

Overwhelmingly, voters across the county are fueled by anti-Trump and anti-Rauner sentiment. This year, the Cook County Democrats submitted over 120,000 petition signatures gathered from all corners of Chicago and Cook County -- the highest number ever submitted during Berrios’ tenure as chairman of the party.

“Our Democratic base is energized in every part of the county and ready to elect our endorsed Democrats who will fight against Governor Rauner’s and President Trump’s disastrous policies that hurt working families,” said Cook County Democratic Party executive director Jacob Kaplan.

The last day to file petitions to get on the March 2018 ballot is Monday, December 4. For more information about the Cook County Democrats’ endorsed slate please visit.

“I’m very confident that on March 20 our slate will win big,” added Chairman Berrios.